Monday, December 17, 2012

IFJA announces 2012 film awards

Safety Not Guaranteed - inside

The Indiana Film Journalists Association, an organization of journalists dedicated to promoting quality film criticism in the Hoosier State, is pleased to announce its annual film awards for 2012.

"Safety Not Guaranteed" took top honors, winning Best Film as well as Best Original Screenplay (Derek Connolly).

 "Beasts of the Southern Wild" was the runner-up for Best Film and also won the Original Vision Award, which recognizes a film that is especially innovative or groundbreaking. Eight other films were named Finalists for Best Film.  

Quentin Tarantino took Best Director for "Django Unchained." Stephen Chbosky won Best Adapted Screenplay for "The Perks of Being a Wallflower."  

Jessica Chastain won Best Actress for "Zero Dark Thirty." Anne Hathaway was named Best Supporting Actress for "Les Misérables."

 In the Best Actor category, Bradley Cooper in "Silver Linings Playbook" and Daniel Day-Lewis in "Lincoln" tied for winner. (This was the first time the group has experienced a deadlock that could not be broken after multiple rounds of voting; members elected to declare a tie with no runner-up.) Tommy Lee Jones was named Best Supporting Actor for "Lincoln."  

"Rise of the Guardians" was named Best Animated Film, "Searching for Sugar Man" Best Documentary and "The Raid: Redemption" Best Foreign Language Film. Thomas Newman won Best Musical Score for "Skyfall."

The Hoosier Award, which recognizes a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with Indiana roots, went to Jon Vickers, Founding Director of Indiana University Cinema.

In a few short years, Vickers has established IU Cinema as a major hub for serious consideration of film as an art form, scheduling an ambitious program of film screenings, retrospectives, festivals, traveling exhibits and topical programs. He has also attracted prominent guest lecturers, including Werner Herzog during the past year. Previously, Vickers served as managing director of the DeBartolo Performing Arts Center at the University of Notre Dame.

 The following is a complete list of honored films:
Best Film
Winner: Safety Not Guaranteed
Runner-Up: Beasts of the Southern Wild  
Other Finalists (listed alphabetically): Django Unchained
Les Misérables
Moonrise Kingdom
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Sessions
Silver Linings Playbook
Zero Dark Thirty
Best Animated Feature
Winner: Rise of the Guardians
Runner-Up: ParaNorman
Best Foreign Language Film
Winner: The Raid: Redemption
Runner-Up: Amour
Best Documentary
Winner: Searching for Sugar Man
Runner-Up: Room 237
Best Original Screenplay
Winner: Derek Connolly, "Safety Not Guaranteed"
Runner-Up: Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained"
Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner: Stephen Chbosky, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower"
Runner-Up: David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Best Director
Winner: Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained"
Runner-Up: Kathryn Bigelow, "Zero Dark Thirty"
Best Actress
Winner: Jessica Chastain, "Zero Dark Thirty"
Runner-Up: Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Anne Hathaway, "Les Misérables”
Runner-Up: Helen Hunt, “The Sessions”
Best Actor
Winners (Tie):
Bradley Cooper, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”
Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln”
Runner-Up: Christoph Waltz, "Django Unchained"
Best Musical Score
Winner: Thomas Newman, "Skyfall"
Runner-Up: Mychael Danna, "Life of Pi"
Original Vision Award
Winner: Beasts of the Southern Wild
Runner-Up: Django Unchained
The Hoosier Award
Winner: Jon Vickers, Founding Director of Indiana University Cinema
(As a special award, no runner-up is declared in this category.)  

About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in February 2009. Members must reside in the Hoosier State and produce consistent, quality film criticism or commentary in any medium.

No comments:

Post a Comment