Monday, December 12, 2011

IFJA announces 2011 film awards

The Indiana Film Journalists Association, an organization of journalists dedicated to promoting quality film criticism in the Hoosier State, is pleased to announce its annual film awards for 2011.

"The Artist" took top honors, winning Best Film as well as Best Director (Michel Hazanavicius) and Best Musical Score (Ludovic Bource).

"Win Win" earned two prizes, Paul Giamatti for Best Actor and Thomas McCarthy for Best Original Screenplay.

"The Descendants," which was named runner-up for Best Film, won Best Adapted Screenplay for Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash.

Elizabeth Olsen took the Best Actress prize for "Martha Marcy May Marlene," while Viola Davis was named Best Supporting Actress for "The Help." Christopher Plummer took Best Supporting Actor for "Beginners."

Winners were declared in 14 categories, with a runner-up in 13 categories. In addition, a total of 10 movies (including the winner and runner-up) were recognized as Finalists for the top prize, Best Film of the Year.

"Rango" was named Best Animated Film, "Project Nim" Best Documentary and "The Skin I Live In" Best Foreign Language Film. "The Tree of Life" was given the Original Vision Award.

Lindsay Goffman was honored with The Hoosier Award as the producer of "Dumbstruck," a documentary about ventriloquists that was released nationally by Magnolia Pictures.

A word of explanation about the last two categories:

The Original Vision Award is meant to recognize a film that is especially innovative or groundbreaking.

The Hoosier Award recognizes a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with Indiana roots. As a special award, no runner-up is declared.

The following is a complete list of honored films:

Best Film of the Year
Winner: "The Artist"
Runner-up: "The Descendants"
Other Finalists: "Coriolanus," "Drive," "Hugo," "Martha Marcy May Marlene," "The Muppets," "The Skin I Live In," "Super 8," "The Tree of Life."

Best Animated Film
Winner: "Rango"
Runner-up: "Winnie the Pooh"

Best Foreign Language Film
Winner: "The Skin I Live In"
Runner-up: "13 Assassins"

Best Documentary
Winner: "Project Nim"
Runner-up: "Into the Abyss"

Best Original Screenplay
Winner: Thomas McCarthy, "Win Win"
Runner-up: J.C. Chandor, "Margin Call"

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash, "The Descendants"
Runner-up: Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin, "Moneyball"

Best Director
Winner: Michel Hazanavicius, "The Artist"
Runner-up: Terrence Malick, "The Tree of Life"

Best Actress
Winner: Elizabeth Olsen, "Martha Marcy May Marlene"
Runner-up: Tilda Swinton, "We Need To Talk About Kevin"

Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Viola Davis, "The Help"
Runner-up: Amy Ryan, "Win Win"

Best Actor
Winner: Paul Giamatti, "Win Win"
Runner-up: Ralph Fiennes, "Coriolanus"

Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Christopher Plummer, "Beginners"
Runner-up: Albert Brooks, "Drive"

Best Musical Score
Winner: Ludovic Bource, "The Artist"
Runner-up: Howard Shore, "Hugo"

Original Vision Award
Winner: "The Tree of Life"
Runner-up: "The Artist"

The Hoosier Award
Winner: Lindsay Goffman, producer of "Dumbstruck"

1 comment:

  1. The Artist seems to be the favorite everywhere, I can´t wait to watch it.