Friday, October 16, 2009

IFJA announces award rules and categories

The Indiana Film Journalists Association is pleased to announce its rules and categories for its first-ever film achievement awards.

The IFJA was founded at the beginning of this year to promote quality film criticism in the Hoosier State. As such, we will be recognizing the best and brightest of film, much as other critic groups do. We currently have nine members.

The IFJA Awards will be announced on or around Dec. 14. We will name a winner in each of 12 categories (listed below) as well as one runner-up in 11 categories. In the Best Film category only, we will recognize nine finalists in addition to the winner.

In order to be eligible, a film must have played in Indiana during the calendar year, or screened for our critics in advance of a 2010 wide release date. Movies that played in a major Hoosier State film festival -- such as Heartland Film Festival or Indianapolis International Film Festival -- will also be considered.

Here are the categories:
· Best Film of the Year
· Best Animated Film
· Best Foreign Language Film
· Best Documentary
· Best Screenplay
· Best Director
· Best Actress
· Best Supporting Actress
· Best Actor
· Best Supporting Actor
· The Hoosier Award
· Original Vision Award

The Hoosier Award is meant to recognize a significant cinematic contribution by a person with roots in the Hoosier State. This can be a director, screenwriter, actor, cinematographer, etc. To be eligible, the person must have been born in Indiana or spent a significant portion of their life here (attended college, etc.).

The Original Vision Award is meant to recognize a film that is especially innovative or original.

No comments:

Post a Comment